You are here

Technology institute to approve designs for 13 hydro projects in India

IIT Roorkee to approve hydro-electric designs as MoU signed with 32 developers

The IIT Roorkee is to approve designs for 13 hydro projects in India, according to reports

A technology institute in India is to approve the designs of over a dozen hydro projects for the country. The state government has given the task of approving the design of 13 small hydro-electric projects, which private developers have proposed, to the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT)-Roorkee, according to reports.

Business Standard has reported that the government had signed a memoranda of understanding (MoU) with 32 developers to build the hydro power projects. This is set to generate energy capacity of 409 MW.

It has said two centres of IIT-Roorkee, alternate hydro energy centre and department of water resources development and management, will be involved in approving the designs. The designs will be adopted by the state technical committee after approval has been made.

The state energy department plans to operationalise the hydro electric power projects. Of the 13 new hydro power projects, four will be executed by the state owned Odisha Hydro Power Corporation (OHPC) with the remaining nine to be developed by private players. The hydro power projects are to be developed in Keonjhar, Kalahandi, Malkangiri, Koraput, Bargarh, Khurda, Rayagada, Gajapati and the Cuttack districts.

OHPC is currently operating seven hydro-electric projects in India.